> Hello
> I would like to order your products. I am based in ivory Coast in Africa.
> I would like to know if you make mail order trading and you make the expôrt
> your goods by UPS and FEDEX.
> I would like to know if you accept the credit cards like means of payment.
> In waiting of your answer
> Cordially
> Mr Corile
Then I ansewered:
>Yes, we accept credit cards and we ship worldwide. Which t-shirt do you >want?
>Thanks for contacting us.
>Fabricio.
And their answer was:
>HELLO
> I thank you for your message.our visit on your site we place my order >directly want to bring my invoice to me:
>REFERENCE QUANTITY
>Women
>MANGA JAPONESA 300
>COMPETITION 100
>Man
>REMERA HOMBRE 300
>MUSCULOSA 100
> With waiting of the proforma invoice including the forwarding >costs UPS or FEDEX on Abidjan.
>MR PIERRE
I checked the IP addres at www.ip2location.com and is from COTE D'IVOIRE (Africa), their email is from yahoo.fr
What do you think? Too risky to ship 800 t-shirts? What can I do?
I asked this exact same question here about a month ago. I was being scammed by a guy in Nigeria and I learned that he was scamming me by constantly asking him questions.
Ask him for the name of the financial institution that issued the credit card and their customer service phone number. Both of those are printed on the back of the actual credit card. Odds are this is a scam and that this guy doesn't actually have the credit card. If he obliges you with the info, then call the number and verify the truth of the card holder.
My scammer tried to offer me a PayPal payment. He offered to overpay me through PayPal, but directed me to keep only the fair payment and to get a Western Union Money Transfer for the remainer and send it to someone else in the States that he owed it to. Scam city.
Quote:
HELLO,I REALLY THANK YOU FOR YOUR EMAIL.
LIKE I ONCE TOLD YOU THAT THESE TEES ARE NEEDED FOR AN
OCCASSION WHICH IS COMING UP SOON,SO I HOPE IT WILL BE
RECIEVED IN A TIMELY MANNER.
I HAVE CONTACTED ONE OF THE ORGANIZATION CLIENT WHO IS
A DONOR ABOUT THIS TRANSACTION AND THE REASON WHY I AM
EMAILING YOU IS TO BRING TO YOUR AWARENESS THAT THE
TOTAL MONEY THAT WILL BE REMITTED INTO YOUR PAYPAL
ACCOUNT WILL BE $3500 AND AFTER THE REMITTATION,YOU
ARE TO DEDUCT THE SUM OF $340 WHICH IS THE TOTAL COST
OF YOUR ORDER AND HAS FOR THE REMAINING $3160,YOU
SHOULD SEND IT THROUGH WESTERN UNION MONEY TRANSFER
WITH THE PAYMENT DETAILS I WILL PROVIDE YOU WITH.
I WOULD HAVE LOVED TO RECIEVE THE MONEY IN MY PAYPAL
ACCOUNT BUT ITS A PITY THAT THE ORGANIZATION DOES NOT
HAVE A PAYPAL ACCOUNT AND I STRONGLY DO BELIEVE THAT
YOU WILL NOT BETRAY THE TRUST THE ORGANIZATION HAS
GIVEN YOU.
PLS GET BACK TO ME TELLING ME THAT YOU WILL DO HAS I
HAVE SAID WITH THE FEAR OF GOD IN MIND.
PLS GET BACK TO ME SOON SO THE REMMITTATION CAN BE
MADE SOON BECAUSE THE ORDER IS NEEDED URGENTLY.
THANKS.
The more you communicate with the guy, the more their story falls apart.
Problem is that the sale will go through and then later you receive a chargeback on the card. You have shipped the gear and now repaying the chargeback. I had a similar deal with a fellow in Lagos Nigeria. You can do a google search for scams in Africa and there is a world of info.
I have a question, Hypothetically, say he does pay you via paypal, you ship him the goods with a UPS tracking number, and then he later tries to remit payment. Since you have evidence that you shipped him the goods, can't you cancel the remitted payment? Thus getting your money, I realize that it is a hassle, but just curious what you believe the outcome would be.
I have a question, Hypothetically, say he does pay you via paypal, you ship him the goods with a UPS tracking number, and then he later tries to remit payment. Since you have evidence that you shipped him the goods, can't you cancel the remitted payment? Thus getting your money, I realize that it is a hassle, but just curious what you believe the outcome would be.
Well, what if he's using a stolen credit card?
__________________ vMatches.com - Social networking and dating site.
Don't Doooo Ittttttttttttt!!!!! You don't want to give him or her your financial information (account number, AB routing number) for him to wire money to your account. He could use that information to pay for other things. This happens all the time. When he said, "Africa", that raised a BIG RED FLAG right there. Why would he want to buy 800 t-shirts from the U.S.? He can get them cheaper in other countries. He didn't even ask about what shirts are available, colors, sizes, when he can expect to receive them, how are they packed, etc. The only thing he asked was "do you accept credit cards". Doesn't make sense. Don't do it ok? LOL!
Last edited by RisingBlue7; October 26th, 2006 at 08:13 PM.
What do you think? Too risky to ship 800 t-shirts? What can I do?
As others have said, it's pretty much certainly fraudulent.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waterloo
I checked the IP addres at www.ip2location.com and is from COTE D'IVOIRE (Africa), their email is from yahoo.fr
This, however, I don't find even a little bit suspicious - in fact I'd say it's completely consistent. He says he's in the Ivory Coast, and an ip lookup confirms it. The Ivory Coast speaks French, his e-mail address is with a free French e-mail service.
The fact is the order is fraudulent, and the guy is presumably using a yahoo address because it's disposable; but the use of a yahoo.fr address by a French speaker isn't at all weird in and of itself.
THIS IS A SCAM!!! 100%
If he wants to pay with a credit card be sure that the card is not his. He will give you a credit card of another person from US or any other big country that he stoled (or other people like him) from the net.
You have all the signals that this is a SCAM, and a verry foolish one.
They don't ask of the quality, they rush into placing the order, and so on...
Don't get fooled by this cheap stealing tricks. I know it's appealing but you will end up without your merchandise and you'll have to pay back the money to that poor credit card owner that he stoled from. So insted of making 10,000$ in sales you will find yourself paying 20,000$.
Hah, yeah I thought it was just a new post to the same old thread when I saw it =)
Quote:
Originally Posted by m26gil
THIS IS A SCAM!!! 100%
If he wants to pay with a credit card be sure that the card is not his. He will give you a credit card of another person from US or any other big country that he stoled (or other people like him) from the net.
99.9% =) Rodney has mentioned that he did once have a legitimate order from Nigeria (I think it was), but it is obviously very rare.
It is of course definitely safest (and probably for the better) to ignore it, but if you're still curious you'll want to keep asking as many questions as you can. If they try to rush the order, cancel out immediately. Require payment from something other than credit card/payal; money order would probably be the safest I think?
Im new to this site but not new to the scamming, please be very careful it's a great order and when we see those kind of numbers we tend to drop our guard. because you shared the information means that you are uncertain, which is called instinct if it sounds to good to be true normally it is. I would ask for a wire transfer to your bank, not a credit card there have been a lot of overseas scamming now that we have the internet phone systems, I was just a victim of a scam a few months ago, lost $2400 dollars.
Once your merchandise goes over intenational waters, you limit your options.